The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,265 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • October 2005
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

What You Don’t Know, But Should

Posted by ALmod on October 24, 2005

I’ve promised to post new stuff on an almost daily basis, so it took a little while for me to find something that concerned me enough to write about. I wouldn’t say that it’s been a slow news day. It’s just been an old and predictable news day. So with that being said, I picked the article on my news mailing that made me the maddest. There were two, actually.

The first one was in regards to the Valerie Plame leak investigation. Here is the link to the Associated Press article as it was posted on Yahoo. (I like Yahoo, because I can customize my homepage to show me the top news stories of the day from several different sources.) There was one particular sentence that caught my eye:

Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison of Texas derided any potential perjury charge as a “technicality,” and suggested Fitzgerald may be trying to show that “two years’ of investigation was not a waste of time and dollars.”

Let me state this as civilized as I possibly can without bursting a blood vessel. Perjury is a crime. It is not a technicality. The word “technicality” is not now and will never be a strong enough word to describe perjury. In fact, “technicality” almost makes it sound like it doesn’t matter. But, oh, it does matter. It is lying after taking an oath on a Bible to someone who is trying to investigate a much bigger issue, and as a result, you are throwing up a huge roadblock into that investigation. This particular case is in regard to our national security. Someone jeopardized it. And whether or not that person was aware of a covert status, they were far too flippant with the name of someone who worked for the CIA considering all that we’ve gone through to insure that future 9/11’s do not happen. It was careless at best. I’m very concerned about how that leak happened, and if you are deliberately lying about it, you are a problem. Period.

Politicians need to realize one of these days that lying is not a gray area. It is very much in the black, and the American public is getting sick of it.

It’s time for me to go home, so I’ll talk about this one tomorrow.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
