The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

Got Cable?

Posted by ALmod on January 5, 2006

I’ve never been so happy to have satellite service in my entire life. Leave it to the Birmingham delegation to attempt to pull a fast one of the rest of the state legislature in order to get their beloved domed stadium. These guys are getting desperate. I especially love the following paragraphs:

State Sen. Jabo Waggoner, R-Vestavia Hills, is listed as advertising both bills, according to Karen Abercrombie, the editor of the Messenger, a newspaper that carries legal notices.

But Waggoner denied he was behind the proposed legislation.

“I don’t know anything about those bills,” Waggoner said Wednesday. “I did not advertise them. I did not. I don’t know where they came from. I’m not familiar with the bills. I have not read them. I don’t know a thing about them.

“Somebody is using my name. I did not authorize these bills to be advertised. I don’t even know where the Alabama Messenger is. I’ve never gone over there and never mailed a bill there to my knowledge.”

Clyde Echols, chairman of the Birmingham Jefferson Civic Center Board, said Wednesday the BJCC had nothing to do with the bill. “We have no clue who paid to advertise that or what’s behind it.”

I smell John Rogers. He’s a stinky sort of guy, anyway. Of course, Rogers is the first to say that the bill is dead in the water, but since he’s one of the main supporters of the dome project, he’s the most likely candidate to have put the bill out there in the first place. And I wouldn’t put it past him to use someone else’s name. Better yet, the tax is to be levied by the Jefferson County Commission, headed by Rogers’s best buddy, Larry Langford (who loves his tax legislation). Waggoner is the senator from Vestavia Hills, which is one area that would have almost nothing to benefit from a domed stadium in Birmingham, Rogers’s district.

And before they start putting Gov. Riley’s name on anything, he’s already made it perfectly clear that it ain’t going to happen– especially in an election year.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
