The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

Suit Claims Actress Fired Over Pregnancy

Posted by ALmod on January 13, 2006

Fans of the sci-fi show “Sliders” are going to recognize Kari Wuhrer. She’s also worked on several other shows, but I remember her as an elite soldier whose home world was destroyed by its inhabitants and as the woman that Quinn Mallory (Jerry O’Connell) would have ended up with had he not been lost to a scientific experiment gone out of control.

That aside, it looks like she may have been fired over a pregnancy. I wouldn’t be surprised either way. I have been known to watch my share of soaps. My current favorite is “Passions” for the weird storylines that almost poke fun at other soaps. I watch “Days of Our Lives” on occasion, but I’m not as loyal as I used to be because the storylines just made me lose interest. After years of being a sudser, I’ve seen several pregnancies written into a storyline or covered up. For example, the recent pregnancy of actress Alison Sweeny (Sammy, DAYS) was covered up completely, and her storyline was changed so that her character could be played by a man during her maternity leave. The result was one of the best storylines that I’ve seen in a while. When actress Lindsey Korman Hartley (Theresa, PASSIONS) became pregnant with her first child, her pregnancy was written into the storyline so that her character was also pregnant, and two actors were needed to replace Hartley and her husband, Justin Hartley, when their baby was born. This resulted in an even better storyline than the one on DAYS. That being said, it isn’t unheard of for execs and writers for these shows to work with their actresses, so I find it hard to believe that this would have been the fuel behind Wuhrer’s termination.

At the same time, I know that it happens. I actually worked management for a company that put me in a one day Human Resources training course about hiring and termination practices. During that course, I was specifically told how to get around hiring pregnant women and still dance around getting sued for discrimination. This same company later “laid off” four of its employees, three of which just happened to be able and willing to work, but disabled. So I know that it isn’t unheard of for companies to discriminate and then weasel their way out of it.

I’ll be interested in knowing how this unfolds.

One Response to “Suit Claims Actress Fired Over Pregnancy”

  1. Arlen Crawford said

    It’s a shame, but HR departments all over the country engage in illegal discrimination. The vast majority get away with it because it’s terribly difficult to prove. There are companies that actually indoctrinate employees on a consistent basis about how to do it.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
