The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,262 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • August 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

The People of District 54 Win!!!

Posted by ALmod on August 26, 2006

Loretta Nall has just posted on her blog regarding the Alabama Democratic Party Executive Committee meeting. I agree with her take 100%. It really is a shame that this was an issue to begin with. This, after all, was never about the fact that Ms. Todd was openly gay. It was about race, of all things. The black leaders in the Alabama Democratic Party should be ashamed of themselves. They of all people should know what it is like to be subject to racism, and the fact that Ms. Todd was white and had received the majority of votes in a mostly black district had been the real reason why Joe Reed made her his personal business. Just because the racist was black and victim was white doesn’t make this any less or better than a reverse situation.

I am a white woman, and I would be much happier and extremely proud to be represented by a qualified black man or woman than with some of the corrupt white politicians that currently represent me. I have many very close black friends for whom I’d gladly give my life. Two of my best black friends married white men, my cousin married a black man a few weeks ago, and they were met with a large amount of disapproval– mostly from the black community.

This isn’t harmony, people. This is voluntary segregation, and its wrong. The fact that some in the black community don’t want anything to do with those “white devils” isn’t just an insult to me. It’s an insult to everything that every Civil Rights leader ever worked for. It’s an insult to all those who wanted equality for us. It’s an insult to Dr. King’s dream, and to mine. We should be trying harder to bring ourselves together, folks, not tear ourselves apart.

3 Responses to “The People of District 54 Win!!!”

  1. Loretta Nall said

    Thanks for the link Jen.

    I was deeply disturbed to see how things played out along racial lines today. All of the people in favor of keeping Patricia Todd off the ticket blatantly ignored the truth, fairness and the rule of law.

    It is frightening to see so many people set aside truth and the will of the people and attempt to OPENLY and WITHOUT SHAME subvert the very democratic process they have fought to make fair.

    I watched as Joe Reed got Raymond Johnson elected as a Democratic EC member and Raymond Johnson was the counsel for Gaynell Hendricks’s group. Can you say Vote Stacking?

    I am really just astounded by the whole thing but extremely happy to report that democracy still works when we make ourselves seen and heard like we did today and over the course of the last few weeks with the Patricia Todd case.

  2. Don said

    Now that we’ve seen that there are enough, though narrowly, sane people in the leadership of the Alabama Democratic Party to have weathered this HD 54 storm I might mention again another thing I consider one injustice on top of another injustice.

    Debates between the candidates for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and Attorney General candidates have been scheduled for October 30 and will be aired over APT and APR, but the participants don’t include Loretta Nall who failed to get on the ballot because of Alabama’s overly restrictive ballot access law which was designed to reserve ballot positions to just the two major parties.

    True, Ms. Nall isn’t on the ballot, but she is still a candidate, albeit a write-in candidate. Apparently the sponsors of the debates (Leadership Alabama, the Public Affairs Research Council of Alabama, Alabama Public Television, and the Alabama Press Association) are pawns of the Democratic and Republican parties and want to silence the voices of all others who might have new, different, and perhaps better ideas of how to deal with the issues.
    I would like to see the sponsoring entities inundated with protests over their policy.

  3. Sheila said

    I was glad to see how the executive committee voted, but it was a close vote. I am like you in that I think we are being led and influenced by leaders not worthy of our trust. And I’m talking about black and white. I keep coming back to this issue in my own blog. I think it is because we won’t deal with it and recognize how much we are alike rather than our differences. I guess, though, that’s what politics is all about.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
