The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,250 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • December 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

I’m still here!

Posted by ALmod on December 29, 2006

I’m just bogged down a bit with all of the holiday stuff. I’ll be back in full force after the first of the year, and I have a surprise, of sorts! (It’s part of the reason why I’ve been scarce, lately.)

So please don’t think I’ve abandoned my blog. I am still here, after all.

There are a few things I did want to talk about, but I don’t know that it’s worth a full posting, so I’ll just go off onto some random babbling. (As if I would ever do something besides babble on randomly!)

First, was anyone besides me shocked to hear exactly what Gerald Ford thought about everyone? I so did not see that one coming– especially when I heard him talking about former Ford staffers Dick Cheney and Donald Rumsfeld! Wow! I mean, wow! I knew that Ford was more of a Goldwater Republican, but… Wow!

Wil Wheaton dot Net (WWdN) is a site that I used to frequent back when I was doing tech support. It’s a blog that’s kept up by non other than the brave, brave guy who played what could be argued as the most hated role in Star Trek fandom. Yep! Wesley Crusher, himself! Salt of the earth kind of guy, too! For the record, I was one of those teenage girls who used to drool over my television while watching TNG.

I don’t know why I quit reading his blog, but I added the link to my blogroll, and I’m reading him again. Something that made me think about him, in particular, is the way our world is today. Wheaton actually predicted from 9/11/01 that we would end up where we are today. At the time, I was a Republican (capital “R”), and I thought it was a conspiracy theory, but I let it go and just humored him. It’s hard to think and admit that he was right. Since then, I’ve redefined myself as an independent voter and a moderate. While I still somewhat consider myself to lean Republican, it took a lot for me to realize that the party has leaned so far to the right that it is hardly recognizable as the red party that I’d grown to love. The last presidential election saw me voting in the blue, for crying out loud! But one thing that I do remember was Wheaton’s ominous prediction just after the towers fell: “You will be less free next week than you are this week.” Or something like that. Forgive me if I misquoted you, Wil.

Now, onto something else… I read this today, and I thought it was just bizarre.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
