The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,250 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • January 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

Argo, Argo, Argo…

Posted by ALmod on January 10, 2007

Technically, I live in Argo. Does that make me an Argonaut? Seriously though, one thing I can tell you is that it makes me a very frustrated citizen when it comes to my local government. The city council can’t agree on anything unless they want to run the elected mayor out of office. They can’t get along long enough to agree on a new police chief. In fact, they can’t stand each other enough to actually come to a meeting. The city can’t even pay its bills because they don’t have enough council members present at meetings to pass a budget. Oh, and by the way, another one quit.

How bad is the problem? Well, at this point, Governor Riley will have to appoint a new council member.

Honestly, I have better things to do with my time, but the situation has gotten so bad, that I’m considering a run for city council or mayor. One of my husband’s uncles used to be mayor, so I might even be able to get name recognition if I run under the big “I”.

So, here’s an open comment to Gov. Riley… If you need someone, I’ll do it.

7 Responses to “Argo, Argo, Argo…”

  1. Jeff Vreeland said

    You Should!

    I would suggest if you are interested call your State Senator and State Representative(s) and let them know you are qualified and have a strong desire to lead the city. Then ask them to please pass your name along to the Governor for consideration.

    Also shoot me an e-mail as well and I will see if I can grab a few ear’s over the weekend to get you nominated.

  2. The Alabama Moderate said

    Thing is, I have no real political experience or experience in running a city, for that matter.

    Best I can promise is to put any potential issues with my fellow council members and the mayor aside until after the fundamental operation of the city (like paying the bills) has been addressed. Heh, at least I’d show up!

  3. wheeler said

    “The city can’t even pay its bills because they don’t have enough council members present at meetings to pass a budget. Oh, and by the way, another one quit.”

    i saw that story and was going to post about it, but i did not realize that anyone actually lived in argo. i thought it was just a few gas stations around an exit from I-59.

    haha. just kidding. anyway, you have my endorsment.

  4. Don said

    Jen, if you get appointed, when time to run for re-election comes just mail me a bunch of absentee ballots and I’ll get all of my neighbors to vote for you. It seems to make no difference whether people live in the area they vote in, witness Senator “Walking Wendell” Mitchell who lives in one senate district, and votes in a different one that he represents in the senate.

  5. Adam said

    I say go for it as well. Even if you don’t have any experience you have to start somewhere.

  6. The Alabama Moderate said

    Yeowch, Don! I did get those emails, and I’ll take a look at them today.

    Wheeler, we are NOT just a couple of gas stations. We also happen to have a car wash. 😉 Honestly, it’s the lack of industry that I like about Argo. Mostly, I enjoy the peace and quiet of St. Clair County, and I’m just over the line from the bustle of Jefferson County.

    Adam, you’re my husband, so you have to say that. 🙂

  7. Jeff Vreeland said

    Political Experience is not needed for City Council nor is the ability to need to know how to run a city. You need the desire to make things better and logic, that is it.

    I have gotten a few city council members elected that had nothing more then a vision for the city as well as a desire to see things improved.

    Just from reading your blog (and not know you) I can tell you poses a level of intelligence that is needed to work with others and do the best for your city and constituents.

    Talk to Adam about it and at least give it a thought. You obviously love the area and have a desire to get things going the right way.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
