The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

Funeral Arrangements for Enterprise Students

Posted by ALmod on March 3, 2007

The Montgomery Advertiser has them here.

Very sad. From what I understand, the father of one of the dead students is currently serving in Iraq, although I cannot find an online article that has this information. I already can’t imagine getting this kind of news as a parent, but to get this kind of news when you are already in that type of situation must be beyond unbearable. Very tragic. My thoughts and prayers go out to these families.

UPDATE: Brian apparently has some info on the soldier (s) who lost their children in this tragedy. There were, if I’m reading correctly, actually two soldiers who lost children. One is currently fighting in Iraq and the other is scheduled to return to Iraq in June. You can view Brian’s post here. If you follow the link in his post, you can get information on each of the students who died.

3 Responses to “Funeral Arrangements for Enterprise Students”

  1. Don said

    Jen, I can’t recall where online, but I did read that the father of one child who was killed (a boy, I believe) had returned from Iraq and passed out when the names of the victims were revealed to a crowd of people in Enterprise. I believe I read somewhere else that the father of another victim was still in Iraq when the tornado struck.

  2. Don said

    From Flashpoint @ http://www.flashpointblog.com/
    “Update: Here is a heart wrenching description of one parent’s grief:

    At City Hall late Thursday, anxious parents waited for news of their children. One man passed out when he was told his son had died, collapsing to the floor as a dozen people surrounded him. He regained consciousness a short time after, screaming for his son.
    A counselor on hand said the man was a soldier slated to return to Iraq in June. His 16-year-old son was an honors student who called his mother on his cell phone five minutes before the storm hit to say they were being moved.”

    However, in the link to the article this was supposed to come from I didn’t see it.

  3. The Alabama Moderate said

    Thanks, Don. I’ll give Brian his credit.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
