The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

Why Building Codes Don’t Suck

Posted by ALmod on May 15, 2007

Sometimes I wonder if it would be more efficient to tear down my home and start over.  We’ve had a number of issues with our home since we bought it, and the house is only just over four years old.  I went into my home knowing squat about building, but I’ve had so many problems to fix, that I’ve gotten quite an education.

For starters, the back porch looks like it may fall apart at any moment, and the steps have been cracked and broken more than once because the “nosing” went out too far from the runners underneath.  The foundation was cracked (BADLY) within the first year.  The ceilings are slightly bulging.

The electrical wiring looks like it was done by someone who has OCD.  I say that because they tried to fit as much as possible onto a single circuit, which causes all kinds of electrical fun.

We have minimal insulation, which results in no sound filtering for a home located right next to a busy street.

As it turns out, there’s also a reason why it’s recommended that you use copper water lines going out several feet from the home.  We discovered that one when the pvc pipe that was used instead cracked and leaked inside our walls.

I’ve talked to my neighbors to find that ours wasn’t the only home where they cut corners to save a few bucks.  The building company has apparently gone out of business since.  It was rumored that they were sued out of existence.  I wonder how many other neighborhoods around us have had similar issues because of the lack of building codes.  Considering how many new homes are going up in our area, it’s something that should be a priority for our town leadership.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
