The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,255 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • July 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

Preaching to the Choir

Posted by ALmod on July 16, 2007

Did anyone else see this article in the Birmingham News this morning?

I had to read it twice to make sure I wasn’t making a mistake. A group of abortion activists staged a protest/rally/whatever-they’re-calling-it in front of some churches yesterday. Now call me crazy, but I don’t believe that’s the demographic that needs convincing. I also doubt that anyone would be getting an abortion while hearing the Sunday sermon. What really got my attention was this next quote from the article:

Flip Benham, director of Operation Save America, said the group was “bringing the gospel of Jesus Christ at the gates” of his church.

Across from where Benham stood at the entrance to Briarwood’s parking lot, another activist blew repeatedly into a musical instrument Benham said was a ram’s horn. “That’s our call to battle,” Benham said.

Okie dokie. A “call to battle” it is. Hey genius! You’re firing on your own troops!

I probably would have just laughed if it hadn’t been for the mention that they were passing out pictures of aborted babies to churchgoers. Personally, I don’t know if I’d want my young child to view something so potentially gruesome, and church is a family place.

I’ve always said that I was not an abortion supporter, and I’ve given my own reasons why, but these folks are just plain nuts!

2 Responses to “Preaching to the Choir”

  1. I was praying that this didn’t take place in Alabama, alas I was not that lucky.

  2. I bet it was Jericho Horn Lady from Montgomery.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
