The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,265 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • November 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

I Overlooked Something…

Posted by ALmod on November 16, 2007

I only skimmed over the names listed in this Birmingham News article yesterday… I guess this is what I get for doing so. I missed this particularly interesting factoid:

“Radio talk show host and political activist Frank Matthews was chosen to lead the Mayor’s Office of Citizens Assistance, a job previously held by Don Lupo.”

Frank Matthews… Frank Matthews… Where have I heard that name before? Oh yeah! Frank Matthews was one of the idiots calling for Richard Scrushy Parkway to keep the name! Why? Well because he believes in Scrushy’s total innocence, regardless of Scrushy’s conviction. Could Matthews’s faith in Scrushy have anything to do with his friendship with Scrushy? And could Langford’s appointment of Matthews have anything to do with Langford’s longtime friendship (and questionable business dealings) with Scrushy?

By the way, a tip of the hat to Kathy at Birmingham Blues for reminding me about this. And you know what they say about those who associate with criminals…

UPDATEI called one of my friends at City Hall from Lupo’s department today.  The word yesterday morning was that Lupo was still gone.  I was informed this morning that Lupo was brought back sometime yesterday.  At least that’s one less thing to worry about.  –Saturday, November 17, 2007

3 Responses to “I Overlooked Something…”

  1. Kathy said

    Thanks for the link! John Archibald said something a couple of weeks ago about the possibility of Frank Matthews handling citizen complaints, and I thought surely he was joking. Then I remembered that Larry doesn’t like to be challenged and figured the best way to keep down complaints would be to put someone like Frank in charge. He’d just intimidate anyone who dared to question the king — I mean, the mayor.

    It’s good to see that something made Larry reconsider, but I’m sure he’ll reward Frank with another plum job. It remains to be seen which one.

    BTW, Frank is also the person who came out of last year’s State Democratic Executive Committee meeting incensed that the delegates voted to uphold Patricia Todd’s election to the state House. He was hollering at the top of his lungs, “N*ggers and gays, n*ggers and gays, that’s all this party has is n*ggers and gays.” What a peach.

  2. some guy said

    THANK YOU for the confirmation that Don Lupo still has his position. That is at least one small blessing. We will have to see how this stuff develops over the next weeks and months.

  3. ALmod said

    OMG!!! Kathy, I’d completely forgotten about the Patricia Todd incident! I can’t believe I’d forgotten it, but yeah… Good ol’ Frank!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
