The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

Why do I love Bob Barr?

Posted by ALmod on September 15, 2008

I’d already pretty much planned on voting for Barr.  I mean, with Alabama being a solid red state, it’s not like a vote for Barack Obama was going to have any significance, and the only reason I’d vote for Obama would be to stop McCain from taking office.  (I like Obama, but I’m just too much of a fiscal conservative to vote for him.)  So I figure I have the rare opportunity to vote for a third party candidate without it hurting anyone else.

Well, after all the crap that the Republicans and Democrats put other parties through with ballot access laws, what’s good for the goose is good for the gander, and someone has finally said that enough is enough.

You can read about it here.

Side note:  Expect to hear more whining from the Republicans on this one.  That’s over 30 electoral votes in a solid red state!

One Response to “Why do I love Bob Barr?”

  1. Don said

    I’m a hard core skeptic, I guess, but I’m not convinced yet that Barr had a “road to Damascus” experience and saw the light.

    I’m using the same reasoning Jennifer is and voting my conscience knowing that I won’t be hurting any other candidate by writing in the name of the only person who threw his hat into the presidential campaign ring who [1] has a well established record of voting in accordance with the US Constitution and [2] has studied and understands economics……Congressman Ron Paul.

    To paraphrase James Carville a bit, it REALLY is the economy, folks. Unfortunately neither of the major party candidates for the presidency nor their running mates has studied or understands economics and how the economic policies of our country affect every aspect of our lives and the other policies of our government. I was born during The Great Depression of the late 1920s and I will likely die during the Great Depression of the 1980s. I fear for the future of those who live through the next several years.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
