The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

The Glass Steeple

Posted by ALmod on September 24, 2008

I was raised Southern Baptist, though I now attend a United Methodist Church as a member.  And I’ve always understood that the Southern Baptist Convention believed that pastors should be men.  However, I was unaware as to how much they supported this belief until I saw this.

And I was also unaware that the SBC owned Lifeway Christian Stores.  I’m fully aware now, and they won’t be getting any more of my business.

From the article:

“Lifeway Christian Stores pulled “Gospel Today,” saying the cover article promotes women as heads of the church.  That is something the Southern Baptist Convention, which owns Lifeway Christian Stores, opposes.”

The church I attend has had two female associate pastors, and they’re probably two of the most effective pastors I’ve ever met.  In fact, I’ve yet to meet a female pastor who didn’t continuously inspire me.

This is a step back.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
