The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,255 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

The First Dog-Elect

Posted by ALmod on November 6, 2008

Shaun Mullen asks, “What kind of puppy should Obama get his daughters?”

I thought it was a fun question to ask.  Apparently, Malia has allergies, so the dog will have to be one that has a short coat and/or doesn’t shed.  That would leave the unpredictable mutt out of the question.

So I’m recommending a greyhound.  They do shed, but they don’t have undercoats, so they’re considered to be hypoallergenic.  My cousin adopted a retired racing dog named “Juice” a few years back, and I’ve been quite impressed by this breed.  They’re intelligent and easy to train, and they’re some of the sweetest dogs you’ll find.

UPDATE: CNN is now asking the question as well with a poll for readers.  While adopting a stray seems to be the most popular choice, I’m not sure that it’s realistic considering Malia’s allergies.  The problem with strays is that they tend to be mutts, and the problem with mutts is that you can’t predict various aspects– like temprament and size and (most importantly) shedding.  I’m still rooting for the greyhound, and they can always rescue a former racing dog.

2 Responses to “The First Dog-Elect”

  1. Don said

    I’d suggest a Basenji, and if you go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basenji and read about them you may see why. No hints from me. 🙂

  2. ALmod said

    lol! Oh goodness, Don! I do love your sense of humor, but I’m afraid some folks might wet their pants at that choice. Then again, you never know.

    Supposedly, they’re great pets. I’m not too sure about the climbing thing, though. It would cause a problem in our home because we keep our dog in the back yard on nice weather days. I can’t imagine if she were to get out.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
