The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,253 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

The OTHER Barry

Posted by ALmod on November 6, 2008

Barry Goldwater, that is.  He’s the reason I consider myself to be a Republican.  I got to thinking today about how much I miss him.  He’s been gone since 1998.  He left the U.S. Senate in 1987– a seat that was filled by John McCain.  I wonder what he would have said about his successor’s loss.  I wonder what he would have said about his party’s loss.

Barry always did have a knack for words.

When Jerry Falwell questioned the nomination of Sandra Day O’Connor to the Supreme Court of the United States by saying, “Every good Christian should be concerned,” Goldwater famously responded by saying, “Every good Christian ought to kick Falwell right in the ass.”  (I won’t repeat what he said about the Iran-Contra scandal.)  Wow!  Could you imagine a prominent Republican political figure saying that today?!  God bless Barry Goldwater!  Honest to a fault, but that’s the way I like ’em!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
