The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,265 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

Artur Davis Still Being Considered

Posted by ALmod on November 12, 2008

UPDATE: Thanks to regular reader (and Alabama I&R supporter) Don S. for helping me to answer a question he asked about how Davis would be replaced.  According to the U.S. Constitution, the governor would call a special election to replace him.

A glance at CNN this morning shows that folks are still buzzing about Artur Davis being considered for U.S. Attorney General.  Davis has said before that he doesn’t think he’ll be asked and that he doesn’t want the job, but you know what they say about someone protesting too much.

I think he should take the job, and I think it should be offered.  There are a few different reasons.

First, remember how excited we were in Alabama when Condi Rice was appointed?  I’m willing to bet that Barack Obama wouldn’t mind scoring a few points in a red state.  Two, Davis is still fairly young and new, but he’s qualified.  I like younger, newer folks.  They tend to think outside the box, and I think given our current situation, it’s what we need.

But why would he consider taking the job if he wants to run for governor in 2010?  Well, I don’t think he should run in 2010.  It’s too soon, and I think he knows that.  Why would you run if you’re pretty sure you’re going to lose?  Rather, I’d like to see him run in 2014 or 2018.  And with at least one term of service under an Obama administration under his belt, he’d be an even more desirable candidate for governor– particularly if (heaven forbid) he ever ends up running against Troy King.  If Obama is re-elected in 2012, Davis can tout his connections as favorable for the people of Alabama.

4 Responses to “Artur Davis Still Being Considered”

  1. Don said

    Suppose that Davis took the US AG job…….Who do you think might replace him in the congress to represent the citizens of CD7? Hopefully not the guy that Davis took that job away from, Earl Hilliard.

  2. ALmod said

    I’d have to look it up, but if I remember correctly, the governor appoints someone to replace him.

  3. Don said

    I don’t know either, but I would imagine that the governor would have to call an election in the district to replace a congressman. If the governor can just appoint a congressman I seriously doubt Davis would want a Republican governor appointing his replacement, which would be a good reason for him to turn down the AG position.

    The answer is probably found in the US Constitution, but I haven’t had time to look for it.

  4. RD said

    Artur Davis would make an excellent Governor. He would be running an uphill race but Davis has overcome difficult odds before.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
