The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,262 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

Sen. Shelby backs a bipartisan bill to beef up the SEC.

Posted by ALmod on April 22, 2009

Good for him!

I’m not Sen. Shelby’s biggest fan, but this is one thing I can get behind.  And while I do consider myself to be mostly conservative, I am in fact a moderate, which means that the SEC is part of the necessary government oversight that I support in that it protects us from criminal activity that has a very real impact on us all.

As was reported a while back, the FBI is positively backlogged with so many cases of public corruption and financial scams, which means that this stuff has been going on long enough.

Of course, this will increase federal spending– another very non-conservative stance– but again, I think this is one of those cases where I take exception.  And if it can prevent any future bank bailouts, it’s definitely going to save us money in the long run.

On a side note, it’s also refreshing to see the rare example of bipartisanship.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
