The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,265 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

100 Days: The Gloves are Off

Posted by ALmod on April 29, 2009

I said a while back that I would hold off on any real criticism of our new president until after his 100 days.  Why?  Well, for starters, I wanted to be fair.  I didn’t even start blogging until President Bush was well into his second term, and I didn’t criticize him at all until well into 2003.  Frankly, I’d blamed many of his initial problems on things that had lingered after the Clinton administration left office.

So I figured that I’d let Obama get the chair in the Oval Office good and warm before I started clobbering him.  Does this mean that the economic situation is his fault?  Yes and no.  It’s not hard to remember that the crisis we’re feeling today started well before the election.  However, Obama is and will continue to be responsible for any turns of the economy following implementation of his economic policies.  The budget?  I’m holding off on that one, as well.  Why?  I believe that the budget Obama gave us was also a direct result of what he was left to work with following the Bush administration’s leave, so I’m giving him a full year on that one.  If next year does not begin a continuing pattern of pulling back on spending, I fully intend to turn into my not-so-nice version.

Does this mean that I’m going to go easier on the far right?  Absolutely not.  Many a “conservative” blogger has lost respect in my eyes the past few months over the fact that they’ve gone to the far right, and by “far right” I mean the paranoid crazy-eyed minions of Glenn Beck and Rush Limbaugh who seem to be jumping at every flicker of the lights as a sign that Obama is out to get them and destroy the world.  To them, Obama is a sinister being bent on world domination, and because of that, I can’t take them or anything they say seriously.  Apparently, neither can at least 70% of the population, since only around 30% disapproves of President Obama, and of that 30%, “disapprove” doesn’t necessarily mean “thinks he’s hell bent on destroying the country.”

I won’t be pouring gasoline over anyone’s head anytime soon.  I’d like for any critique of mine to be taken seriously, thank you very much.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
