The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,255 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • June 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

Another Reason to Drink Pepsi

Posted by ALmod on June 23, 2009

I’ve just purchased a couple cases of the new Mountain Dew Game Fuel to try it out.  Of course, this may be all of the product I drink.  I normally drink diet drinks, and this has WAY too much sugar for my taste.  It still makes a nice occasional treat.  But I’m a big fan of the Diet Wild Cherry Pepsi, and the grocery store is sold out.  It’s fizzy goodness.

Then this morning, I got the following forwarded email from the American Family Association.

PepsiCo sponsors four more gay pride parades

June 18, 2009

Dear xxxxxxx,

Following their sponsorship of the New York Gay Pride Parade scheduled for June 27, PepsiCo has agreed to sponsor four more gay pride parades – Atlanta, Dallas, Phoenix and Cleveland. Click here to see the kind of parade PepsiCo is sponsoring.

PepsiCo shows its employees caught in this destructive and harmful lifestyle no compassion, no support to help them leave it. Rather,PepsiCo spends huge sums of money to promote the lifestyle.

AFA has asked PepsiCo to be neutral in the culture war regarding the homosexual agenda and the legalization of homosexual marriage, but PepsiCo adamantly refuses to do so.

PepsiCo requires employees to attend sexual orientation and gender diversity training. It supports homosexual groups with gifts totaling over $1 million. PepsiCo refuses to give any money to groups such as Parents and Friends of Ex-Gay and Gays (PFOX) that work to help individuals change their sexual behavior.

So as it turns out, not only do I already love Pepsi products, but now I find out that if I drink them, I get the opportunity to tick off the AFA!  Bonus!  I do so hope that someone sees me drinking it and approaches me with the above “knowledge” so that I can respond with, “REALLY?!  I need to drink MORE of this stuff!!!”  Then I give them a hug, tell them I’m contagious, and then skip away while waving a rainbow flag or something.  (NOTE:  I’m happily hetero, and I don’t carry a rainbow flag in my purse, but it doesn’t make the mental picture any less amusing.)

Here’s what the email goes on to suggest that you do to fight this “horrendous act.”  The last one was something I found particularly amusing, since it might not exactly have the desired affect if your friends and family aren’t raging homophobes.  (In which case they could end up like me and doing the exact opposite.  My comments are in brackets.)

Sign the Boycott Pepsi Pledge. After signing the pledge, please call Pepsi (914-253-2000 or 1-800-433-2652) and tell the company you will boycott its products until it stops promoting the homosexual agenda.  [I signed this petition and then called Pepsi to tell them that I will drink more of their products as a result of learning about this.]
Call the Pepsi bottler nearest you and ask it to stop supporting the homosexual agenda.  [I called them to tell them to keep up the good work.  I like for people in Alabama to have jobs, and Buffalo Rock is a big employer.]
• Pepsi’s products include Pepsi soft drinks, Frito-Lay chips and snacks (800-352-4477), Quaker Oats (800-367-6287), Tropicana (800-237-7799) and Gatorade (800-884-2867).  [I called the AFA to thank them for giving me a premade grocery list and taking the guess work out of it for me.]
Print the Boycott Pepsi Pledge and distribute it. [I’m not a big fan of fliers and consider them to be a waste of paper and source of litter.  So I put this up on my blog.  Good enough.]
Forward this e-mail to your friends and family so they will know about Pepsi’s support of the homosexual agenda. Millions of people are not aware of Pepsi’s support of homosexual organizations.

I know what you’re thinking.  The AFA is harmless, right?  Well, let’s not forget that this is the same group that pushed for the arrest of a U.S. Congressmen simply because he was openly gay and threatens companies who do not discriminate against homosexuals in their hiring practices.  If you read up on their history, you find that this group is a few “God Hates Fags” signs away from picketing soldier funerals.  Be very careful of any “Christian” group that sponsors hate or exclusion or fear of an entire demographic rather than attempting to reach out to them.  Meanwhile, I take great pleasure in doing all I can to foil the plans of such groups.

What I find amusing is that at this rate, AFA members are “boycotting” so many different companies that they’ve pretty much eliminated themselves from the consumer base.  Of course, that would have to mean that AFA members made good on their threats, which I doubt.  My last count included Ford, Kraft Foods (which owns several other brands), Proctor & Gamble, Coca-Cola and PepsiCo, Kodak, various fast food chains, Disney, and several others.

2 Responses to “Another Reason to Drink Pepsi”

  1. Catherine said

    Couldn’t have put it better myself! Since moving to Alabama I’ve become exposed to an enormous amount of ‘Christian’ agendas. To know there are actually people opposed to some of the hateful propaganda makes me smile with relief.

  2. David Harmon said

    AFA members are “boycotting” so many different companies that they’ve pretty much eliminated themselves from the consumer base.

    Well, yeah… If you think about it, they “reject our realitysociety, and seek to replace it with their own”.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
