The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,262 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • August 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

Archive for August 3rd, 2009

You can almost feel the trial drawing near…

Posted by ALmod on August 3, 2009

If the propaganda littering Birmingham City Hall is any indication, Larry Langford REALLY needs you to like him right now.  Yes, YOU could be a juror.

EDIT: Now with pictures!

Posted in Alabama Government, Jefferson County, Laugh It Off, Local Government, Scandal | Tagged: , , , , , , | 1 Comment »

Today in DUH: Obama Edition

Posted by ALmod on August 3, 2009

First, let me start out by saying that I’m sorry it’s been so long since my last posting.  I was going to blog on the whole JeffCo thing, but chances are you’ve heard from other sources by now, and quite frankly, I was WAY too mad to write anything sensible.  I’ve instead taken to commenting on the matter elsewhere.  Maybe after today I’ll calm down long enough to write something that doesn’t contain any creative adjectives.

If you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time, you know that I’m actually a proponent of some sort of public health care plan.  I like single payer, but at the very least, I’d like a public option.  (Of course, I think suplemental insurance should always be available for people to purchase should they want it.)  And yes, I’ve always been realistic about the costs.

So why is it that Obama seems to have just now come to the realization that “taxes may rise to pay [for public] health care”?  Duh.

Mostly, I think it’s because the word “taxes” has such an ugly political connotation to it.  Yes, you’ll pay more out of pocket for taxes.  I think the average American isn’t stupid enough to believe that any of this will be free (or that rainbows and puppies will rain down from the sky).  But why not just give the facts.  Overall, most Americans will pay less for their healthcare, whether that’s through taxes or premiums.  In other words, you may pay $50/month more in taxes, but you’ll save $100/month on premiums, and in the end, you’ll have $50/month more in your pocket.  While those are purely made-up numbers, the fact is that the U.S. pays more in health care every year for less coverage in comparison to other countries which have a single payer or public health care option.

Yes, the local police are paid for by my tax dollars, and I’d likely pay fewer taxes if we didn’t have police, but it’d be a heck of a lot more expensive if I had to hire personal bodyguards to protect my family.  Still, I am more than able to hire bodyguards in addition to police protection should I ever wish to.

In the end, I think the American people will have fewer objections to Obama’s health care if he’d just be straight up with us about the cost.  Whoever is handling the president isn’t doing a good job of it, and he comes off like he’s hiding something at the end of the day.

Posted in Corporate Craziness, Federal Government, Health and Wellness, Legislation | Tagged: , , | Comments Off on Today in DUH: Obama Edition