The Alabama Moderate

Painting the Red State Purple.

  • Hit Counter

    • 41,563 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • December 2005
    M T W T F S S
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Rock the Vote, powered by Credo Mobile

    Yahoo! Avatars

Archive for December 14th, 2005

Jeffco embraces 4-day week

Posted by ALmod on December 14, 2005

I can’t believe I’m going to do this, but I’m going to have to give an approving nod to Jeffco Commission President Larry Langford for a really good idea.

That doesn’t happen often, Larry. Take it or leave it.

A 10-hour/day, 4-day/week is a great idea! And if employees don’t like it, it can be easily changed. As someone who has worked such a schedule, I can say that I enjoyed the extra day off– or at least the appearance of one. The only thing you have to get used to is the extra two hours a day on the other four days. It leaves little time at home to get things done on those days, but the extra day makes up for it. Even if you are still working 40-hour weeks, you still feel like you are getting away with extra time off. Overall, I’ve noticed an increase in morale from employees who have similar schedules. Perhaps this idea will take off not only for other counties, but for businesses as well.

The only concern I have is whether or not these positions are crucial to services that residents/taxpayers may need five days/week. But then, schedules can be staggered so that some county employees are available on Mondays while others are available on Fridays. It isn’t exactly something that can’t be fixed.

Posted in Jefferson County, Local Government | Comments Off on Jeffco embraces 4-day week

McCain, Hadley Seek Torture Ban Compromise

Posted by ALmod on December 14, 2005

Honestly. Where do you get the testicular fortitude to look a guy like John McCain in the eye and tell him that he should back down on his standards against torture? If anyone should know first hand as to whether or not torture is an efficient means of obtaining information, McCain would be at the top of the list.

I have to say that I’m very disappointed with the Bush White House. Of course, that’s an understatement. But I voted for George W. in 2000. Why? Regardless as to the financial stability that the Clinton White House provided, I was sick of the scandals. Al Gore seemed to be more of the same. The Bush administration came in promising to restore integrity, dignity, honor, and morals to the White House. I haven’t seen that. In fact, if you show me a person who can look at themselves in the mirror after justifying torture on another human being, I’ll show you someone who scares me a great deal.

I don’t care what that other person did. I don’t care how horrible his crimes were. In the words of John McCain, “It’s not about who they are. It’s about who we are.” We are supposed to be better than this. We are supposed to be the leaders in humane treatment for our prisoners. We are supposed to be the beacon for the rest of the world.

But I think the most important thing, and the point that McCain and Graham are trying to make, is this: We want to insure that, should our soldiers be captured during wartime, they are treated with dignity and respect. Treating others the way we expect to be treated, regardless as to whether or not we recognize them as “military,” is the best way to insure that our own soldiers are not tortured.

Posted in Federal Government, Legislation | 1 Comment »